SFC: Donaghmore / Ashbourne reach the Quarter Finals

SFC: Donaghmore / Ashbourne reach the Quarter Finals

Seneschalstown 0-13

Donaghmore / Ashbourne 1-13

With this the highlight match on the Group B listings all eyes were on Pairc Tailteann on Sunday when Donaghmore / Ashbourne reached the quarter final stages of the 2011 campaign when they overcame last years defeated finalists Seneschalstown by 3 points.

Seneschalstown were first on the score board with a point from play from half back James Byrne on the opening minute. Donaghmore / Ashbourne soon cancelled it out with a point from play on the 5th minute from Ciaran Ellis. Eoin Reilly slotted over 2 points from frees on the 7th and 10th minute respectively. Donaghmore / Ashbourne also conceeded a free which seen the Yellow Furze full forward Bryan Clarke step up and kick over the black spot on the 13th minute. Byrne fisted over another point on the 14th minute which was soon followed by another from corner forward Shane Clarke on the 18th minute. Donaghmore / Ashbourne conceeded more frees which allowed the Clarke brothers kick over the bar on the 21st and 26th minutes respectively. Shane Clarke kicked over another point from play on the 27th minute for the Yellow Furze side. At this stage Donaghmore / Ashbourne hadn’t scored since the 10th minute but Tony Morgan found the back of the net with a well struck goal on the 28th minute. Seneschalstown reacted well and got a further point from play on the 30th minute leaving the side up by 3 points at the break of half time.

Donaghmore / Ashbourne opened the scoring for the second half with a point from play from Eoin Riordan on the 33rd minute. Seneschalstown soon cancelled that point out when Bryan Clarke kicked over a point from free on the 34th minute. Joe Cowley pointed for Seneschalstown on the 36th minute leaving just 3 points between the sides again. Brian Menton kicked a fine point over the black spot on the 37th minute but again Seneschalstown reacted well with Joe Sheridan getting his first point of the day on the 38th minute. Seneschalstown were left breathing a sigh of relief when Donaghmore / Ashbourne were awarded a penalty which seen midfielder Kevin Lanigan blast to the left and wide. But Donaghmore / Ashbourne gained momentum and got 3 points from play from Reilly and Riordan on the 42nd, 49th and 50th minutes. Sheridan pointed again on the 51st minute but was soon cancelled out with a point from David Morgan on the 55th minute. Bryan Clarke got another point for Seneschalstown on the 54th minute leaving just 2 points between the sides with 6 minutes left of normal time remaining. In the last minutes of remaining time Donaghamore / Ashbourne were stronger and with points from play from Riordan, John Broderick and Reilly seen the side finish winners by 3 points.

Seneschalstown: D. Lyons, G. Sheridan, C. Noonan, D. Byrne, P. Carey, G. Conlon, J. Byrne (0-02), R. Ruddy, D. Sheridan, C. Macken, J. Sheridan (0-02), J. Cowley (0-01), S. Clarke (0-04, 1 free), B. Clarke (0-04, 3 frees), S. Finnegan. Subs: C. Gleeson for Byrne 50 mins, P. Waters for Cowley 55 mins, D. Hosey for Macken 58 mins.

Donaghmore / Ashbourne: A. Colgan, I. O’Donnell, C. Mc Gill, S. Curran, C. Ellis (0-01), C. O’Mealoid, E. Riordan (0-03), B. Menton (0-01), K. Lanigan, E. Reilly (0-05, 2 frees), C. Beirne, J. Broderick (0-02), T. Morgan (1-0), I. Dowd, D. Morgan (0-01).

Link to Fixture: 
Senior SFC Group B Rd 5

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer